Painting of vintage turntables from Deaconlight radio show

Classic & Current Contemporary Non-Schlock-Rock Metropolitan Music

October (1981) - U2

Cover to U2 - October« U2

Over the past few months I have rediscovered this record and realize what a great album it is. Santa brought it to my younger daughter Annecy for Christmas 2004. Although I have had the record since it came out, the accessibility of being able to play the CD on my computer has given me more opportunities to listen to it.

What has made me even more appreciative of this period is my recent acquisition of a recording of U2's April 23, 1983 concert at Chapel Hill. (Don't even THINK of asking me for a copy.) You know, that's the one I have all the pictures and interview from. But even though that was the opening show of the War tour, I think U2 played more songs from October than War. I haven't actually counted but the October songs keep getting stuck in my head. Particularly the title cut "October," "I Fall Down," (which has always been one of my faves), and "Tomorrow." Ironically, Bono sang "I Fall Down" after he came down off the scaffolding, where he had climbed to sing "The Electric Co." Good thing he didn't really fall down! I will write more about that later.

In the Niall Stokes book Into the Heart, I read that most of the lyrics had been written for this record when they were stolen while U2 was on tour. That must have been a bummer. Then it seems I read something in 2004 where they had been found, but I can't confirm this.

It has been nice reacquainting myself with this record. If you have it in your record rack, slap in on the turntable and you will see what I mean. Oh, I it is just pure co-incidence I am updating this page on the first of October. Really!

-- 1 October 2005 (DD)

October Original Album Tracks

Download U2 - October on iTunes
  1. Gloria
  2. I Fall Down
  3. I Threw a Brick Through a Window
  4. Rejoice
  5. Fire
  6. Tomorrow
  7. October
  8. With a Shout
  9. Stranger in a Strange Land
  10. Scarlet
  11. Is That All?

Additional Tracks on the 2008 Remastered October

  1. Gloria (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
  2. I Fall Down (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
  3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
  4. Fire (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
  5. October (Live at Hammersmith Palais, London)
  6. With A Shout (Richard Skinner BBC Session)
  7. Scarlet (Richard Skinner BBC Session)
  8. I Threw A Brick Through A Window (Richard Skinner BBC Session
  9. A Celebration
  10. J. Swallo
  11. Trash, Trampoline And The Party Girl
  12. I Will Follow (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
  13. The Ocean (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
  14. The Cry/Electric Co. (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
  15. 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (Live at Paradise Theatre, Boston)
  16. I Will Follow (Live From Hattem, Netherlands)
  17. Tomorrow (Bono & Adam Clayton, Common Ground Remix)

Vintage Deaconlight Playlists with songs from U2 - October

More U2 at

Carolinanet Web Hosting and Colocation in North Carolina