Painting of vintage turntables from Deaconlight radio show

Classic & Current Contemporary Non-Schlock-Rock Metropolitan Music

Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge (2004) - My Chemical Romance

Cover to My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge« My Chemical Romance

This band got a big push from the record company on the music channels. For that reason alone I dismissed them at first. Then to make a long story short, I have to confess I started getting a little hooked on them. I would probably like them better if I didn't have to hear this album over and over and over again played by someone who lives in my house.

They were fun live, too, opening for Green Day when I saw them in Norfolk, VA, this year.

Even though "I'm Not Ok (I Promise)" has been played into the ground, I still can't help but find myself screaming along to it in the end when Gerard Way starts screeching the title line, especially in the CD version. We have had a lot going on lately and there is something cathartic about being able to yell "I'm Not OK!!!" etc etc as the days wear on...

-- June 7, 2005 (DD)

Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge Tracks

Download My Chemical Romance - Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge on iTunes on iTunes
  1. Helena (So Long & Goodnight)
  2. Give 'Em Hell, Kid
  3. To The End
  4. You Know What They Do To Guys Like Us In Prison
  5. I'm Not Okay (I Promise)
  6. The Ghost Of You
  7. The Jetset Life Is Gonna Kill You
  8. Interlude
  9. Thank You For The Venom
  10. Hang 'Em High
  11. It's Not A Fashion Statement, It's A Deathwish
  12. Cemetery Drive
  13. I Never Told You What I Do For A Living

Pictures from Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge Tour

Gerard Way looks blue and cool touring with Green Day in 2005
Gerard Way back when his hair was long.

More My Chemical Romance at

Carolinanet Web Hosting and Colocation in North Carolina