Painting of vintage turntables from Deaconlight radio show

Classic & Current Contemporary Non-Schlock-Rock Metropolitan Music

Arena (September 2008) - Todd Rundgren

Cover to Todd Rundgren - Arena (Arena Rock)« Todd Rundgren

The new Todd Rundgren album Arena is now out on CD and digital download!

Here's a blurb from the July 21, 2008, press release about Arena from Hi Fi Records:

Arena, recorded in Todd's current home state of Hawaii, is yet another notable addition to Rundgren's remarkable career as a performer, songwriter, and producer. The album showcases his unique songwriting style and sonically captures the essence and energy of "arena" rock with bombastic, guitar-driven tunes like "Mountaintop," "Strike" and "Mad," while the anthemic song "Mercenary," transports you to a stadium with its epic chorus, "How Do You Like Me Now?," resounding to every seat in the house.

"I found myself just going out and doing this sort of guerilla guitar quartet thing around the country and around Canada," said Rundgren. "So when it came time to make a record, I thought maybe I'll just continue in that vein and write something that is appropriate to the guitar, since the fans seem to be enjoying it so much.

"So when I decided to write a new album, I knew beforehand it was going to be this kind of old-school guitar-rock record."

Click here for the full press release.

-- Updated 14 October 2008 (DD)

Record Label

HiFi Records

Band Members

  1. Todd Rundgren: Guitar, Vocals
  2. Jesse Gress: Guitar
  3. Prairie Prince: Drums
  4. Rachel Haden: Bass
  5. Matt Bolton: Guitar, Keyboards

Arena Tracks

Download Todd Rundgren - Arena on iTunes
  1. Mad
  2. Afraid
  3. Mercenary
  4. Gun
  5. Weakness
  6. Strike
  7. Pissin
  8. Bardo
  9. Today
  10. Courage
  11. Mountaintop
  12. Stamina
  13. Manup

Todd Rundgren Arena on CD

More Todd Rundgren at

Carolinanet Web Hosting and Colocation in North Carolina