Painting of vintage turntables from Deaconlight radio show

Classic & Current Contemporary Non-Schlock-Rock Metropolitan Music

Back from the Dead (Jun. 16, 2009) - Spinal Tap

Spinal Tap - Back from the Dead album cover« Spinal Tap

The film This Is Spinal Tap and its accompanying album, This Is Spinal Tap joined the Quarter Century Club in 2009. Although there have been several special editions and re-releases of the Spinal Tap rockumentary over the years, turning 25 is something truly special. Fortunately, the muses of Spinal Tap – Michael McKean (David St. Hubbins), Harry Shearer (Derek Smalls), Christopher Guest (Nigel Tufnel) – are rising to the occasion and bringing their devoted fans a 25th anniversary present.

Back From The Dead is a collection of what the band call "long-self-suppressed studio versions" of some of their classic songs along with a few more recent numbers. The newer songs include "Warmer Than Hell," which Spinal Tap played at the July 2007 Live Earth Concert. The title track, "Back From The Dead", emerged on David Letterman around that time as well.

Amongst the guest musicians on Back from the Dead is keyboard virtuoso Keith Emerson of Emerson, Lake, and Palmer, Steve Vai, and John Mayer.

The tactile version of Back From The Dead originally included a CD with 19 songs, a DVD, and a Spinal Tap/Stonehenge diorama (details below). The official press release for Back From The Dead mentioned that a special "11-inch" vinyl version would be available, but I never found one. I guess they wanted to go "one bigger" than a 10-inch record.

-- 3 June 2009 (DD)

Spinal Tap - Back From the Dead Original Album Tracks

  1. Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight
  2. Back From The Dead
  3. (Funky) Sex Farm
  4. Rock n Roll Creation
  5. Jazz Oddyssey I
  6. Gimme Some Money
  7. Rock n Roll Nightmare
  8. Heavy Duty
  9. America
  10. Jazz Oddyssey II
  11. (Listen to the) Flower People (Reggae Stylee)
  12. Hell Hole
  13. Big Bottom
  14. Celtic Blues
  15. Jazz Oddyssey III
  16. Warmer Than Hell
  17. Stonehenge
  18. Short and Sweet
  19. Cups and Cakes
Buy this record:

Download Spinal Tap - Back From the Dead on iTunes

Buy Spinal Tap - Back From the Dead CD at Barnes & Noble

Spinal Tap - Back from the Dead Diorama

Included in original 2009 CD release.

Spinal Tap - Back From The Dead - Diorama with Derek Smalls, David St. Hubbins, and Nigel Tufnel perched above Stonehenge Spinal Tap - Back From The Dead - Special Package back view showing CD, DVD, and album art

More Spinal Tap at Deaconlight

« Back to Spinal Tap Index

Carolinanet Web Hosting and Colocation in North Carolina